After two weeks of high-level competition, Triangle of Sadness (Without filter), directed by Ruben Östlund, succeeds Titane, Palme d’or punk and gore which shook the Croisette last year. This is the second Palme d’or from the most gritty of Swedish directors after the lunar The Square (2017), with this satirical comedy where he follows the passengers of a luxury cruise, stranded on a desert island and led by a Marxist ship’s captain. “The entire jury was extremely shocked by this film,” said Jury President Vincent Lindon.

In the film, Ruben Östlund delivers an uncompromising critique of capitalism and its excesses. Raised by a communist mother, defining himself as “socialist”, the Swede did not give in to the ease of “describing the rich as bad people” but rather to “understand their behavior”. In a sort of reverse Titanic (the film takes place during a luxury cruise), where the weakest are not necessarily the losers, he dissects the springs of class from top to bottom: the rich against the poor, but also men against women, and whites against blacks.

The Palme d’or is awarded to TRIANGLE OF SADNESS (WITHOUT FILTER) directed by Ruben ÖSTLUND

A big favorite in this competition, Jerzy Skolimowski and his star donkey from EO, a horrific tale about animal abuse, won the Jury Prize ex-aequo with the Belgian duo Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix Van Groeningen, for their cinematographic proposal Le Otto Montagne (Les eight mountains).

Accustomed to the Cannes Film Festival, Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, the two director brothers, received the 75th Anniversary Prize for Tori and Lokita. The Best Director Award went to Park Chan-Wook for Heojil Kyolshim (Decision to leave).

Another serious contender for the Palme d’Or, the film Close by Lukas Dhont is content with the Grand Prix. The 31-year-old prodigy shares this award, the Festival’s second most prestigious distinction, with Claire Denis (Stars at noon).

War Pony by Riley Keough, granddaughter of Elvis Presley, and Gina Gammell is honored with the 2022 Golden Camera award. ,12, eager to become a man, living in an underprivileged neighborhood in South Dakota. The Water Murmurs by Jianying Chen receives the Palme d’Or for Best Short Film 2022 and Plan 75, directed by filmmaker Hayakawa Chie wins the Special Mention for a first film.

The Best Actress Award goes to Zar Amir Ebrahimi for her performance in Ali Abbasi’s feature film Holy Spider (Les Nuits de Mashhad). The Iranian actress, who had to leave Iran for France in 2008 following a sex scandal, spoke in Farsi when receiving her award. “Tonight I have the feeling that I had a very long journey before arriving here on this stage (…) a journey marked by humiliations,” she said, thanking France for the to have welcomed.

The Best Actor Award goes to Song Kang Ho for his role in Broker, or The Good Stars in its French version, Hirokazu Kore-eda’s latest work. The actor has notably distinguished himself in several films by Bong Joon-ho, such as Parasite, one of the previous Palme d’Or. He plays in this Kore-eda film a man involved in baby trafficking, who will form a small family of odds and ends around him.

The Screenplay Prize goes to Boy from Heaven (Walad Min Al Janna) by Tarik Saleh.

The Award for Best Actor goes to SONG Kang-Ho in BROKER by KORE-EDA Hirokazu

Palme d’or : Sans filter de Ruben Östlund (Suède)

Grand Prize: Close by Lukas Dhont (Belgium) and Stars at Noon by Claire Denis (France)

Best Actor Award: Song Kang-ho in The Lucky Stars by Hirokazu Kore-eda (South Korea)

Best Actress Award: Zar Amir Ebrahimi in The Nights of Mashhad by Ali Abbasi (Denmark)

Best Director Award: Decision to Leave by Park Chan-wook (South Korea)

Screenplay Award: Boy from Heaven by Tarik Saleh (Sweden)

Prix ​​du jury : Les Huit Montagnes de Felix Van Groeningen

75th Anniversary Awards: Tori and Lokita by Jean-Pierre

Short Film Palme d’Or: The Water Murmurs by Story Chen (China)

Short Film Special Mention: Lori by Abinash Bikram Shah (Nepal)

Gold Camera: War Pony by Riley Keough and Gina Gammell (United States)

Special Mention Camera d’or: Plan 75 by Chie Hayakawa (Japan)